Daily Archives: March 1, 2011

Endless laughter

~A Unique Chuckle~

If you think about it, God has given us a pretty extraordinary variation of blessings… I’m not even going to attempt to explain the things He has done in my life or the types of blessings I attribute to His doing.  But there is a particular blessings that came to mind through reading the book Crazy Love, one that is often overlooked but is remarkably special.

The sound of a laugh is infectious, capable of bringing the laughter from other individuals out to fill the room.  Laughter is unique to the person, similar to a personality, appearance, or the tone of a persons voice.  Often times you can identify someone based on their laugh, like a vocal fingerprint.  Take my dear friend Mark for example… This strong man who illustrates loyalty in his image, has the highest pitch laugh you can imagine.  Something you wouldn’t expect out of that body.  But his laugh brings happiness to the people around him, it’s been one of my favorite laugh’s ever since I was a kid.  The Sheehan family has a laugh all their own, one that you can distinguish from others rather easily.  I’ll be in my living room and hear a giggle from the other room, you can discern within seconds if it was Carla or Bry.  Or.. take me for example.  My laugh is more like a giggle in its initial “stage,” but push me far enough in laughter and suddenly the sound ceases… rendering me a bouncing, speechless, tear filled blob.  A rather odd sight, you’d probably agree if you’ve ever seen it.

It’s truly fantastic how drastically different we each are as human beings… from our clothes to our bodies, our bodies to our faces, our faces to our voices, and our voices to our laughter.  Don’t take something so simple for granted, often times the simple things in life are the things we most cherish.